Quake Champions NDA Lifted: A short reflection

I’ve been in the Quake Champions beta. Being a huge Quake fan I have played Quake Champions at nauseum and posted to the closed beta forums when I can because I really want to see this game succeed and for an arena FPS to have a healthy community and that is community driven.

At first I was incredibly critical of the implementation of a “Champions” system as this meant that movement speeds and health pools vary. I felt, originally, that this created an incredible imbalance as I felt as if the trade off between between health and movement speed wasn’t comparable.

Apart of the “Champions” system, each player is given an ability button. I also felt as if these abilities were very “anti-Quake”. I was particularly a little thrown off when a giant Lizard sprayed acid everywhere and I proceeded to die from a bleed damage. Abilities seem to be incredibly out of place in Quake Champions. I feel as if they always have, even after the latest wave of patches. I don’t feel as if they are in the spirit of the game, as if you are met with a player that is of similar skill to you, and they use their ability, typically the only way you can counter the use of that ability is through using your own. Overall this creates an incredibly passive style of play that rewards conservative behavior.

Despite there being differences between Champions and the over praise of passive game play, I feel so far, that Quake Champions are on the correct path to being a fantastic game. I would like to see what mode of game the community accepts as the competitive standard.  A “classic” game mode wouldn’t go astray either.

Leave a Reply

