My Relationship with Video Games 

I don’t believe for a second that a ‘golden age’ of video games has come, nor has it gone. It’s all relative. Gaming post-2010 has been the slow funeral of ‘fun’, with a eulogy ironically spoken by eSports.

While I could ramble on about my history with video games, I don’t think that is what this post should be about. I would like to provide some insight into why I am apathetic towards gaming in 2017.

The truth of the matter is that I just don’t have a game anymore. For the longest time my game was either an MMO such as; LoTRO or WoW. The Tab-Target MMO has been lost on me as I’ve gotten in my twenties. It isn’t satisfying me. Now, I’m not sure if it is the style of game as much as it is the game itself because I do find myself going back to WoW occasionally. I suppose it’s the feeling of responsibility that has sucked my motivation to continue with WoW. Which is where Black Desert Online has succeeded so well. If you need time off there is always catch up mechanics and you don’t need to wait for an event or a patch. The catch up mechanics are relative to you.

Most recently, I have rekindled with OS-Runescape. Progression isn’t something that is expected as a cohort, but much rather progression is individualist. This means that I can drop in or out if I’m feeling burnt out, as where many other games don’t allow that. Most of the time your goals within OS-Runescape can be set and met individually. I think this is an incredible trait for an MMO to have and the fact that a game with such simplistic roots is able to achieve this.

Akin to my return to OS-Runescape I found myself picking up Starcraft 2 recently. After only ever being interested in the story mode of the Starcraft Universe.  I’ve decided to dive head first into the multiplayer aspect. I’m loving it. I wish I had jumped on this sooner, back when Starcraft 2 was the game for everyone. Once again, it is a individual driven game where if I want to improve I can put the hours in, but if I am feeling burnt out I am not causing any misfortune or inconvenience by taking a few days to a week off.

While I’ve mentioned quite a lot about multiplayer games, yet keeping the motif of individualism, I would suppose that the question in mind is ‘Why not just play single player games?’. It’s a fair point, and if I was reading the ramblings of some irrelevant Australian, I would probably suggest the same to the moron. The answer is, I do. I don’t believe single player, story driven games are made with the same level of care as they once where. There isn’t a new IP that has interested in a very long time. There are built franchises that are rebooting in the modern era and between those games like Doom, Wolfenstein, Tomb Raider, Uncharted, Final Fantasy and Ratchet and Clank, I’m satisfied. I don’t feel the need to expand further as when you’ve been around gaming for as long as I have you start to notice all of the drawn influences each new IP has. It bugs me to no end and it usually isn’t implemented as well as what it was originally.

Despite it probably being better for my health, I don’t necessarily have a game at the moment. I’m waiting for the next game that will suck away 8 years of my life like WoW did. I’m waiting for something that will innovate and inspire me as much as Doom 2 did. I’m waiting for the next thing in gaming to allow everyone to be involved, regardless of skill to be included and relevant.

I’m waiting to have fun again…

Leave a Reply

